INFORMATION : +32 (0)2 775 75 75 (mo-fri: 9h-12h30/13h30-17h) -

The enforcement

How much is the fine?

Failure to comply with the entry criteria for the Brussels low emission zone will lead to a fine of €350. The fine is the same for every offence.

However, no new fine will be imposed until three months after the previous one. This gives you time to take the necessary steps to change your vehicle or alter your travel habits. For example, if a fine is issued on 15 October 2018, the next fine can only be issued after 15 January 2019.

Therefore, in the course of a year, a maximum of 4 fines can be issued per vehicle.

For 2018, the first fines will be issued from October 2018 (a 9-month transition period has been arranged).

For 2019, it is expected that the fines for new vehicles affected by the ban will be issued from April 2019 (a period of 3 months has been defined).

How will the enforcement take place ?

Checks will be carried out on the basis of vehicle number plates, using cameras. A network of around 200 cameras is going to be set up gradually across the entire Region (at the regional boundary as well as within the region).

Around 90 cameras will be installed by January 2018 and the network will be complete by the end of 2018. The cameras will be used in accordance with the laws on the use of private data and images.

These cameras will be used in connection with the low emission zone and also for police purposes. They are being installed as part of the project to create a video-protection platform for the Brussels region.

Is registration compulsory for vehicles registered abroad?

Registration is compulsory for all vehicles registered abroad.

Vehicles can be registered from summer 2018. The data relating to the vehicle must be communicated, such as its number plate, its Euro standard, its fuel, its first registration date, etc.

If a vehicle enters the Brussels Region low emission zone without being registered in advance, a fine of €150 may be imposed (even if the vehicle meets the entry criteria for the low emission zone).